MommyNotes101

The journey of mothrhood

Montessori Floor Bed

on January 23, 2012

This is our version and creation of a Montessori floor bed. When I first had my daughter we used a regular crib, she didn’t like her crib at all and would sleep much more peacefully and longer on my bed or even cushions on the floor. She woke up happier too if she wasnt in her crib, not crying I would hear her giggling or babbling away instead, I had never heard of a Montessori bed before I had only heard of the schools and really knew nothing about who they were or any of their methods. We were moving housing and I was searching on line for decorating ideas including ideas for my little girls new room, this is how I stumbled across the floor bed, I knew right away this would be great for my baby. I started searching for Montessori nurseries on-line and a lot of the ones I saw used a crib mattress, this was not going to work for us because one of the reason my little one didn’t like her crib was  that she loved to roll around and stretch out. I decided to design a double size Montessori bed that we could build. it turned out great! My little girl loves sleeping in and it looks so cute and princess like. it’s also very unique. I really love  a lot of the Montessori theories but have only just started to learn , I would love to hear from other Montessori moms or anyone else who used a floor bed instead of a crib.


Leave a comment